

Building No. 6, Ext 2, No. 7 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park, Mbombela, 1200, Mpumalanga Province Private Bag X11304, Mbombela, 1200. Int Tel: +27 (13) 766 6087, Tel: (013) 766 6087 Int: Fax: +27 (13) 766 8252, Fax: (013) 766 8252

Litiko Lekubusa ngekubambisana netebuholi bendzabuko Departement van Koöperatiewe Regering en Tradisionele Sake umNyango wezekuBusa ngokuHlanganyela neeNdaba zamaKhosi

## MEDIA RELEASE

All Editors All Media Houses

## COGTA SCOOPS A NOTABLE AWARD FOR MUNICIPAL SUPPORT

The Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA) in Mpumalanga has won the Clean Administration Award from the Chartered Institute of Government Finance, Audit & Risk Officers (CIGFARO) in recognition of the department's continued support for municipalities. The award was presented to the department during the 2016 conference on the 3<sup>rd</sup> of October 2016 in Durban, and accords COGTA as the number one (1) provincial department in South Africa that support Internal Audit, Risk and Performance Management efforts.

MEC for COGTA, Ms Refilwe Mtshweni attributed the award to the department's internal staff. "This award reflects a well oiled organization of a committed support staff led by the Head of Department. It signifies the department's commitment to support municipalities as expressed in the Integrated Municipal Support Plan (IMSP)," said Ms Mtshweni. She added that the award will further propel the department to do more in pursuit of the vision to establish a responsive, accountable, effective and efficient local government system.

The award is the second accolade bestowed on COGTA after achieving clean audits for two successive years from the Auditor-General (A-G). Ehlanzeni scooped an award for obtaining clean audits whilst Nkangala obtained an award for effective internal audit. Four (4) of our local municipalities received awards for the most improved clean audit opinion. The municipalities are **Nkomazi, Bushbuckridge, Umjindi** and **Mbombela**. The achievements of the two districts and the four municipalities signifies the intervention we are making as the provincial government in an attempt to improve their performance in key areas.

END.

Issued by: The Department of Co-operative Governance and Traditional Affairs Contact Person: Mr George Mthethwa – 013 766 6572 / 083 302 2774 E-mail: gpmthethwa@mpg.gov.za Date: 11 October 2016

